عن منظمة السلام أولا

Peace First هي منظمة 501 (c) 3 يشارك في قيادتها الشباب والتي تمكن الشباب الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 13 و 25 عامًا لخلق عالم أكثر تعاطفًا وعدلاً وسلمًا من خلال توفير الأدوات الرقمية ودعم المجتمع وتمويل الشركات الناشئة والقصص التي تحتفل برحلات التغيير الاجتماعي وتأثيرها. 

أسسنا المراهقون في عام 1992 في جامعة هارفارد على فكرة بسيطة: إذا أردنا حل أكبر مشاكل العالم ، يجب أن ندعم الشباب بالمهارات والالتزامات لحل المشكلات من خلال التواصل مع الآخرين بالتعاطف والدفاع عن المثل العليا وآخرين يتحلون بالشجاعة ويخلقون التغيير التعاوني. 

بدأ عملنا كنموذج لتمكين الشباب في المدرسة في الولايات المتحدة ، ومنذ ذلك الحين ، نضجنا في منظمة غير حكومية عالمية تدعم المشاريع التي يقودها الشباب وتربط الآلاف من قادة التغيير الاجتماعي الشباب من أكثر من 150 دولة. من خلال منصتنا الرقمية - أكبر حاضنة في العالم لمبادرات التغيير الاجتماعي التي يقودها الشباب - تقدم Peace First للشباب الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 13 و 25 عامًا المهارات والموارد اللازمة لتحويل أفكارهم إلى أفعال. نحن حاليا نستضيف أكثر 19,000 مستخدم شاب على منصتنا الرقمية وتدعم أكثر من 7,000 مشروع بقيادة الشباب.

المشكلة التي نعالجها

يوجد 1.6 مليار شاب على هذا الكوكب - مجموعة مليئة بالأفكار لحل التحديات التي يواجهونها كل يوم. ومع ذلك ، فإن العديد من الشباب لا يتصرفون أبدًا بناءً على هذه الأفكار لأنهم يفتقرون إلى الوصول إلى الموارد اللازمة للبدء ، أو لأنهم يشعرون بعدم التمكين بسبب الصور النمطية التي تقول إن الشباب بطريقة ما أقل قدرة أو جدارة بالثقة. هذا ينطبق بشكل خاص على الشباب على هامش المجتمع.

من خلال العمل مع شركة Deloitte لفهم الحركات الاجتماعية على مدار 120 عامًا - بدءًا من حركات حقوق العمال التي أنهت عمالة الأطفال وحركة الحقوق المدنية في الستينيات وحتى الربيع العربي الأخير - وجدنا أن لديهم عنصرًا مشتركًا واحدًا: كل منهما كان مدعومًا من الشباب . كان الشباب ولا يزالون أقوى محركات التغيير الاجتماعي في العالم.

يواصل الشباب هذا التقليد اليوم - ينهضون ويتحدثون بالحقيقة إلى السلطة. من باركلاند إلى فيرغسون ، ومن لاغوس إلى ستوكهولم ، فهم يحلون المشاكل الراسخة التي تواجهها مجتمعاتنا كل يوم. إنهم يعملون من أجل عالم أكثر رحمة ، وأكثر ملاءمة للعيش ، وأكثر عدالة وسلامًا. يؤمن الشباب بالخير في أنفسهم وبالآخرين ويريدون إطلاق العنان لهذا الخير في العالم. إنهم يطمحون إلى كتابة قصة جديدة للعالم - قصة تحول الصفحة من الأنظمة المحطمة وجدران الإقصاء إلى التعاطف والشمول.

بينما يعمل الشباب لكتابة رواية جديدة ، فإن السلام أولاً يحمي ظهرهم. تعمل Peace First على سد فجوات الوصول وتمكين جميع القادة الشباب ، بغض النظر عن المكان الذي ينتمون إليه والموارد المتوفرة لديهم ، لحل المشكلات في مجتمعاتهم. نحن ملتزمون بالاستثمار في الشباب - من خلال تقديم منح صغيرة ، وأدوات رقمية ، وإرشاد شخصي ، والوصول إلى مجتمع عالمي من المبتكرين الاجتماعيين الشباب. عملنا للاستثمار في القادة الشباب حول العالم بما في ذلك جميع القرارات المتعلقة بالمشاريع التي يجب دعمها بالتمويل يقودها بالكامل الشباب.

About Peace First

 

Peace First is a 501(c)3 organization co-led by young people that empowers youth ages 13-25 to create a more compassionate, just and peaceful world by providing digital tools, community support, start-up funding and stories that celebrate their social change journeys and impact. 

We were founded by teenagers in 1992 at Harvard University upon a simple idea: if we are going to solve the world’s greatest problems, we must support young people with the skills and commitments to solve problems by connecting with others with compassion, standing up for ideals and others with courage, and creating collaborative change. 

Our work began as a school-based youth empowerment model in the US and, since then, we have matured into a global NGO supporting youth-led projects and connecting thousands of young social change leaders from over 150 countries. Through our digital platform — the world’s largest incubator for youth-led social change initiatives — Peace First offers young people ages 13-25 the skills and resources necessary to turn their ideas into action. We currently host over 19,000 young users on our digital platform and are supporting over 7,000 youth-led projects.

 

The Problem We Are Addressing

 

There are 1.6 billion young people on the planet - a group brimming with ideas to solve the challenges they face each day. Yet many young people never act on these ideas because they lack access to the resources to get started, or because they feel disempowered by stereotypes that young people are somehow less capable or trustworthy. This is especially true for young people on the margins of society.

Working with Deloitte to understand social movements over the past 120 years – from the workers’ rights movements that ended child labor and the civil rights movement of the 60s to the recent Arab Spring – we found they had one common element: each was powered by youth. Young people have been and still are the world’s most powerful drivers of social change.

Young people are continuing this tradition today – rising up, speaking truth to power. From Parkland to Ferguson, from Lagos to Stockholm, they are solving entrenched problems that our communities experience every day. They are working towards a more compassionate, more livable, more just and more peaceful world. Young people believe in the good in themselves and others and they want to unleash that good in the world. They aspire to write a new story for the world – one that turns the page from broken systems and walls of exclusion to compassion and inclusion.

As young people work to write a new narrative, Peace First has their back. Peace First is working to close access gaps and empower all young leaders, no matter where they are from and the resources they have, to solve the problems in their communities. We are committed to investing in youth – by providing mini-grants, digital tools, personalized mentorship and access to a global community of young social innovators. Our work to invest in young leaders around the world including all decisions about which projects to support with funding is led entirely by young people.