أين نعمل: الولايات المتحدة وكندا

مشاريع الولايات المتحدة / كندا

منذ إطلاق تحدي السلام أولاً في الولايات المتحدة في يوم مارتن لوثر كينغ جونيور في عام 2017 ، ساعدنا الشباب في جميع أنحاء البلاد على قيادة التغيير الاجتماعي التحويلي - التعبئة ضد العنف المسلح ، والعمل من أجل العدالة العرقية والإنصاف في مدارسهم و المجتمعات ، وإيجاد حلول مبتكرة لوباء الصحة العقلية لدينا. تساعد شبكة من مئات المنظمات الشريكة في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة - من المدارس إلى مجموعات المناصرة - على ربط الشباب ببرامجنا. لقد ذهبنا في جولة مع ليدي غاغا لمساعدة الشباب على قيادة المشاريع التي تحددها الشجاعة واللطف والاندماج في يوم حفلاتها الموسيقية ؛ لقد أجرينا تحديات التغيير الاجتماعي على مستوى البلاد مع تحالف الوعد الأمريكي ومؤسسة Allstate ومؤسسة كارنيجي ، واستضفنا مسرعات لمساعدة الشباب من جميع أنحاء البلاد على توسيع نطاق حلولهم المبتكرة للظلم في مجتمعاتهم. أطلقنا مؤخرًا برنامجًا لتوفير التمويل والتدريب والمجتمع للقادة السود الشباب الذين يعملون من أجل العدالة العرقية. في عام 2020 ، بدأنا في تمويل مشاريعنا الأولى في كندا.

 

US

 

أضواء المشروع

 

مكان الاقتراع

مكان الاقتراع
 

في كل عام ، يساعد الأشقاء Anya و Karsen أجدادهم التايوانيين الأمريكيين في التصويت. حتى قبل أن تبلغ أنيا 18 عامًا ، كانت تجري انتخابات أجدادها ، وتبحث عن كل مرشح ، وتشرح بنزاهة أولوياتهم ومواقفهم السياسية باللغة الصينية. بمرور الوقت ، أدرك أنيا وكارسن أنه من الصعب ويستغرق وقتًا طويلاً العثور على معلومات عن جميع المرشحين ، لا سيما أولئك في انتخابات مجلس المدرسة ومجالس المدينة. قد يستغرق تجميع المعلومات عن المرشحين أحيانًا ساعات ، وهو وقت لا يتوفر لكثير من الأمريكيين.

 

 

 

مساواة

 

بالتساوي

نشأوا في أمريكا ، وشهدت Sualeha و Moniola و Sora - ثلاثة من طلاب المدارس الثانوية وشابات ملونات - التحيزات العرقية التي تؤدي إلى تفاقم عدم المساواة لمجموعات الأقليات. قرر الفريق ، الذي تم تجميعه معًا عبر أجزاء مختلفة من الولايات المتحدة من خلال اهتمامهما المشترك في تطوير التكنولوجيا والبرمجيات ، معالجة هدف التنمية المستدامة المتمثل في السلام والإنصاف في مسابقة تحدي السلام والعدالة لمؤسسة Moody's.

 

 

 

 

كايل

 

حفاضات جنتل لوف

في عام 2020 ، عندما أجبر COVID-19 كايل وأقرانه على العزلة في منازلهم ، أدرك أنه على الرغم من التحديات في حياته ، كان العديد من الناس في مجتمعه يعانون من معاناة أكبر بسبب وضعهم الاجتماعي والاقتصادي و / أو المواطنة. على الرغم من أن بنوك الطعام والمدارس العامة تقدم وجبات مجانية للأطفال المحتاجين ، أدرك كايل أنه تم التغاضي عن شيء حيوي - حفاضات الأطفال.

 

 

 

 

زميل في الإقامة والمدير الإقليمي ، الولايات المتحدة وكندا

FIR Sky

سماء يوسف (هي / هم)
سكاي هي منسق مناصرة ذو خبرة وله تاريخ حافل من العمل في صناعة المنظمات المدنية والاجتماعية. بعد أن تم اعتمادها من قبل Mothering عبر القارات ، وتم الاعتراف بها كمرشد في برنامج المواطنة الرقمية الأكثر تنافسية في ولاية كارولينا الشمالية ، كانت Sky رائدة في المشهد الرقمي لبرامج LGBTQ الشبابية في أمريكا الشمالية. استجابةً لـ COVID-19 ، عملت Sky كمهندس لنماذج واستراتيجيات رقمية مختلفة مصممة لتوسيع نطاق مراكز الشباب في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة. مجالات تركيز Sky الأساسية هي حقوق LGBTQ + ، وإصلاح العدالة الجنائية ، وحقوق التصويت.

Where We Work: US and Canada

US/Canada Projects

Since launching the Peace First Challenge in the United States on Martin Luther King, Jr. Day in 2017, we’ve helped young people around the country lead transformative social change - mobilizing against gun violence, working for racial justice and equity in their schools and communities, and creating innovative solutions to our mental health epidemic. A network of hundreds of partner organizations across the US - from schools to advocacy groups - helps to connect young people with our programs. We’ve gone on tour with Lady Gaga helping young people lead projects defined by bravery, kindness, and inclusion on the day of her concerts; we’ve run nationwide social change challenges with America’s Promise Alliance, the Allstate Foundation, and the Carnegie Foundation, and we’ve hosted Accelerators to help young people from across the country scale their innovative solutions to injustices in their communities. Recently, we launched a program to provide funding, coaching, and community to young Black leaders working for racial justice. In 2020, we began funding our first projects in Canada.

 

US

 

Project Spotlights

 

Polling place

The Polling Place
 

Every year, siblings Anya and Karsen help their Taiwanese-American grandparents vote. Even before Anya turned 18, she would run through her grandparents' ballots, research every candidate, and impartially explain their priorities and policy positions in Chinese. Over time, Anya and Karsen realized that it is difficult and time-consuming to find information on all candidates, especially those in school board and city council elections. It can sometimes take hours to compile information on candidates, which is time that many Americans don't have.

 

 

 

equality

 

Equally

Growing up in America, Sualeha, Moniola, and Sora -- three high school students and young women of color -- witnessed firsthand the racial biases that exacerbate inequalities for minority groups. Brought together across different parts of the US by their shared interest in technology and software development, the team decided to tackle the Sustainable Development Goal of Peace and Equity in a competition for the Moody's Foundation Peace and Justice Challenge.

 

 

 

 

Kyle

 

Gentle Love Diaper Pantry

In 2020, when COVID-19 forced Kyle and his peers to isolate in their homes, he realized that despite the challenges in his own life, many people in his community were experiencing greater suffering because of their socioeconomic and/or citizenship status. Even though food banks and public schools offered free meals for kids in need, Kyle realized that something vital was being overlooked -- diapers.

 

 

 

 

Fellow in Residence & Regional Manager, US & Canada

Fellows-in-Residence Brennan

Brennan Lewis (they/them)
In 2015, Brennan joined the Peace First community as a Fellow and recipient of the Peace First Prize for their statewide work with LGBTQ youth across North Carolina through QueerNC. Their previous roles include working as an organizer for Equality North Carolina and internships with the Human Rights Campaign Government Affairs team in D.C. and the Asheville-based Campaign for Southern Equality. Brennan graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill with a BA in Public Policy and Women’s and Gender Studies. This is the second year participating as a Fellows-in-Residence.