Victory for Same-Sex Marriage in Europe

Same-sex couple in Romania

Claibourn Hamilton and Adrian Coman. Romania is one of six EU member states to not recognize same-sex marriage.
PHOTO CREDIT: Vadim Ghirda/AP via The Guardian


Last month, the European Court of Justice (ECJ) ruled that all countries in the European Union must recognize the rights of same-sex spouses. There are currently six countries in the European Union that do not legally recognize same-sex relationships: Romania, Poland, Slovakia, Bulgaria, Lithuania, and Latvia. The recent ruling means that although same-sex couples still cannot get married in those six countries, they can be married elsewhere and when they return, their home country must recognize their marriage and the rights of their spouses to residency.


This case came about when a same-sex couple consisting of a Romanian national and an American tried to live together in Romania. Although they had been living together outside the country for years and were in fact legally married in Brussels in 2010, the Romanian government refused to grant residency to the American husband. They claimed he could not be classified as a spouse since their country did not allow for gay marriage.


“We can now look in the eyes of any public official in Romania and across the EU with certainty that our relationship is equally valuable and equally relevant, for the purpose of free movement within the EU.” ~ Adrian Coman via The Guardian 


Join a community of peacemakers and create a project to address LGBTQ injustice today!