أين نعمل: الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا

مشاريع الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا

 

في جميع أنحاء منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا - من شمال إفريقيا ومصر إلى الخليج والشام - تدعم منظمة السلام أولاً القادة الشباب المبتكرين لإيجاد حلول للمشكلات الاجتماعية وتنفيذها. لقد دعمنا الشباب لتطوير حلول زراعية مستدامة ، وإنشاء أنظمة دعم للصحة النفسية من نظير إلى نظير ، والدعوة لحقوق المهاجرين وإدماجهم. ينتشر مجتمع المبتكرين الاجتماعيين الشباب لدينا في جميع أنحاء المنطقة ويمثل كل بلد تقريبًا ، ونحن ندعم عملهم التحويلي في إحداث التغيير من خلال برامج خاصة مثل برنامج التسريع الإقليمي في دبي في خريف 2019 والهاكاثون على مستوى المنطقة في صيف 2020.

 

MENA

 

 

أضواء المشروع

تأثير السودان

مبادرة تأثير السودان

وفقا لليونيسف ، 49 في المئة من الفتيات في السودان محروم من التعليم الثانوي. اعتبارًا من عام 2019 ، تم استبعاد ما مجموعه ثلاثة ملايين طفل من نظام التعليم في السودان ، نصفهم من الفتيات. معدل التحاق الفتيات بالمدارس الثانوية أقل من معدل التحاق الفتيان ، كما توجد فجوة كبيرة في معرفة القراءة والكتابة بين الفتيان والفتيات.

زهرة هي مدافعة عن أهداف الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة (SDGs) من السودان ولديها شغف لتقليص الفجوة بين الجنسين في بلدها. بمساعدة السلام أولاً ، أطلقت مبادرة Impact Sudan ، وهي مبادرة لتشجيع وتمكين فتيات المدارس الثانوية لمواصلة تعليمهن وإلهامهن ليكونوا قادة المستقبل. 

 

بسنت

مدوح شفاء

نشأ بسنت في مصر حيث شيطنت الثقافة الشعبية الأشخاص الذين يعانون من مشاكل الصحة العقلية. صورتهم الأفلام والمسلسلات والمجلات على أنهم مجانين ، ووصمهم المجتمع وشجع الناس على تجنب التفاعل معهم. يعتبر الشخص الذي يعاني من مشاكل في الصحة العقلية لا يقدر بثمن ، وربما حتى مشكلة ويجب تجنبه بأي ثمن. هذه الصور السلبية لم تتوافق أبدًا مع بسنت ، ولهذا قررت الحصول على شهادة في علم النفس والعمل في هذا المجال.

 

 

هناء

ناريا وأهارا

تجارب السجن وحدها ليست العقوبة الوحيدة التي يتلقاها الناس. بالنسبة للكثيرين ، بغض النظر عن المخالفة التي يرتكبونها ، فإن فرص العمل محدودة للغاية أو غير موجودة. هذا ينطبق بشكل خاص على النساء في مصر اللائي خرجن من السجن ، وهو أمر لم تستطع هانا إلا أن تلاحظه. إن رؤية وصمة العار التي كانت تواجهها هؤلاء النساء دفعت هانا إلى معرفة المزيد عن تجارب هؤلاء النساء وفهم الوضع الذي تم إطلاق سراحهن فيه بشكل أفضل. بالنسبة إلى هناء ، كانت هؤلاء النساء ضحايا لظلم كان يتفاقم على نفسها ؛ كان عدم قدرتهم على العثور على عمل مناسب يجبرهم على المزيد والمزيد من المواقف الخطرة.

 

 

 

زميل في الإقامة والمدير الإقليمي بمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا                                

 

الزملاء في الإقامة MG

محمد غانم
محمد هو مرشد ومنسق وداعية كرس نفسه لسياسات الشباب وبناء السلام وريادة الأعمال الاجتماعية وتنمية المجتمع. محمد هو منسق مؤتمر القادة الشباب في MCW ومؤسس مشروع أهداف التنمية المستدامة ، الذي يهدف إلى بناء الشباب ليكونوا "وكلاء ودعاة أهداف التنمية المستدامة" لتحقيق أجندة مصر 2030. وهو أيضًا مدرس معتمد في التربية المدنية من معهد جوته بالقاهرة ومركز أبحاث السياسات التطبيقية (CAP) في جامعة لودفيج ماكسيميليان في ميونيخ.
كمدرب للشباب ، يعمل محمد مع الشباب للمساعدة في تعزيز مهاراتهم في النقاش والمواطنة النشطة والمشاركة المدنية والتنمية المستدامة وريادة الأعمال الاجتماعية. حصل محمد على منحة اللوتس من الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية لدراسة العلوم السياسية في الجامعة البريطانية في مصر وجامعة كاليفورنيا في ديفيس.

 

 

 

الزملاء المقيمون يسرا

يسرا مشمش
يسرا فنانة وناشطة شابة مكرسة لتنمية المجتمعات المحرومة في منطقتها من خلال ريادة الأعمال الاجتماعية والتقنيات والحوار. مستوحاة من مئات الشباب في مجتمعها المهمش ، شاركت يسرا في العديد من مشاريع صنع السلام التي تركز على العنف القائم على النوع الاجتماعي والتمييز الاجتماعي والتنمر ونقص الفرص. تقود يسرا أيضًا مشروعًا يمكّن الأطفال من حل المظالم في مجتمعاتهم المحلية وممارسة صنع التغيير. 

بالإضافة إلى عملها الذي يركز على الشباب ، تمتلك يسرا عدة سنوات من الخبرة المهنية في دعم الشركات الناشئة والمؤسسات الاجتماعية والشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة لتسريع نموها والاستفادة من نجاحها في أكبر حاضنات ومراكز الابتكار في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. إلى جانب لها B.Eng. حاصلة على درجة البكالوريوس في هندسة الكمبيوتر من الجامعة الأردنية ، وهي حاصلة على دبلوم في إدارة النزاعات من جامعة فريشوسيت بالسويد. يسرا هي أيضًا عضو في مكتب الأمم المتحدة لوحدة الشباب لمكافحة الإرهاب وتعمل مع فريق عالمي من صانعي التغيير على تصميم برامج ومواد شبابية دولية تركز على السلام.

Where We Work: Middle East and North Africa

MENA projects

 

Across the MENA region - from North Africa and Egypt to the Gulf and the Levant - Peace First supports innovative young leaders to find and implement solutions to social problems. We’ve supported young people to develop sustainable agriculture solutions, create peer-to-peer mental health support systems and advocate for the rights and inclusion of immigrants. Our community of young social innovators is spread across the region and represents nearly every country, and we support their transformative changemaking work through special programs such as our regional Accelerator in Dubai in Fall 2019 and region-wide Hackathon in Summer 2020.

 

MENA

 

 

Project Spotlights

Impact Sudan

Impact Sudan Initiative

According to UNICEF, 49 percent of girls in Sudan are missing out on secondary education. As of 2019, a total of three million children have been left out of Sudan’s education system, half of them being girls. The enrollment rate for girls in secondary school is lower than that of boys, and there is also a significant gap in literacy between boys and girls.

Zahra is an advocate for the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) from Sudan who’s passionate about reducing the gender gap in her country. With the help of Peace First, she launched Impact Sudan, an initiative to encourage and empower high school girls to continue their education and inspire them to be future leaders. 

 

Bassant

Modawah (Healing)

Bassant grew up in Egypt where the popular culture demonized people with mental health issues. Films, tv series and magazines portrayed them as crazy, society stigmatized them and encouraged people to avoid interacting with them. A person with mental health issues is deemed invaluable, perhaps even problematic and should be avoided at all costs. These negative portrayals never sat well with Bassant which is why she decided to pursue a degree in psychology and work in the field.

 

 

Hana

Narya & Ahara

The experiences of incarceration alone are not the only punishment people recieve. For too many, no matter the offense they committed, employment opportunities are extremely limited or nonexistent. This is especially true for women in Egypt coming out of incarceration, something Hana couldn’t help but notice. Seeing the stigma these women were facing motivated Hana to learn more about the experiences of these women and better understand the situation they were being released to. For Hana, these women were victims of an injustice that was compounding on itself; their inability to find proper employment was forcing them into more and more dangerous situations.

 

 

 

Fellow in Residence & Regional Manager, MENA                                

 

Fellows-in-Residence MG

Mohamed Ghanem
Mohamed is a mentor, coordinator and advocate who has devoted himself to youth policies, peacebuilding, social entrepreneurship and community development. Mohamed is MCW's Young Leaders Conference coordinator and the founder of Agent of SDGs enterprise, which aims to build up young people as "SDGs Agents and Advocates" to achieve Egypt's 2030 agenda. He is also a certified civic education instructor from the Goethe-Institute Cairo and the Center for Applied Policy Research (CAP) at the Ludwig-Maximilian The University of Munich.
As a youth trainer, Mohamed works with young people to help strengthen their skills in  debate, active citizenship, civic engagement, sustainable development, and social entrepreneurship. Mohamed received the Lotus scholarship from USAID to study political science in British University in Egypt and University of California, Davis.

 

 

 

Fellows-in-Residence Yousra

Yousra Mshmsh
Yousra is an artist and a youth activist who is dedicated to the development of underprivileged communities in her region through social entrepreneurship, technologies, and dialogue. Inspired by the hundreds of young people in her marginalized community, Yousra participated in several peace-making projects focusing on gender-based violence, social discrimination, bullying and lack of opportunities. Yousra also leads a project that empowers kids to resolve injustices in their local communities and practice changemaking. 

In addition to her youth-focused work, Yousra has several years of professional experience in supporting start-ups, social enterprises and SMEs to accelerate their growth and leverage their success in the MENA region’s biggest incubators and innovation hubs. Besides her B.Eng. degree in computer engineering from Jordan University, she holds a diploma in conflict management from Fryshuset-Sweden. Yousra is also a member of the UN office of counter terrorism youth unit working with a global team of changemakers on designing international peace-focused youth programs and materials.